What should I eat? What should I not?

I found this web entry “Seven Ingredients to Ease Arthritis Pain.” I think I’ll start here.

The seven foods are:

1. Green tea – lots of antioxidants, with ingredients that might prevent cartilage from breaking down.

2. Omega 3 fats – seems like no matter what the ailment, these fats are beneficial. I’ve been taking these for a while and will continue to do so. Here is what I am taking: Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega.

3. Olive Oil – yay! I eat a lot of olive oil. We cook with it, and I love it with a little balsamic vinegar on my salads.

4. Carotenes – I’ll just quote from the website: “The best known is beta carotene (found in foods like cantaloupe, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, carrots, kale, butternut squash, and spinach), but its sister carotenoid, beta-cryptoxanthin, may also reduce the risk of developing inflammation-related disorders, including rheumatoid arthritis. Researchers have found that people who ate diets high in beta-cryptoxanthin were half as likely to develop a form of inflammatory arthritis as those who ate very few; in fact, adding just one additional serving each day of a food high in beta-cryptoxanthin helped reduce the risk. Some of the best foods for beta cryptoxanthin include winter squash, pumpkin, persimmons, papaya, tangerines, red peppers, corn, oranges and apricots.”

5. Vitamin C – The website suggests getting them from food sources (guava, bell peppers,oranges, grapefruits, strawberries, pineapple, broccoli, kidney beans, kiwi, and cauliflower) and says that high-dose Vitamin C supplements can be detrimental to osteo-arthritis sufferers.

6. Anthocyanins – cherries,, blackberries, black currents, blueberries, eggplant, elderberries, raspberries, boysenberries, red and black grapes, strawberries, and plums

7. Ginger and tumeric – These have anti-inflammatory effects.

I had also read an article about research showing broccoli is terrific to ease arthritis pain.

In addition to loading up on the above fruits and vegetables, I am going to incorporate green tea with ginger into my day.

I also thought a gluten-free pumpkin loaf would be nice. Here are a couple I’d like to try. This one uses almond flour http://carolynmaul.com/reinvent-your-pumpkin-bread-with-almond-flour/ and this one uses almond butter:  http://www.againstallgrain.com/2013/10/01/gluten-free-pumpkin-bread/

Leave a Reply

